India vs Srilanka 2017: India won the series by 9-0

India vs Srilanka 2017: Virat Kohli’s stature as India captain touched new heights on Wednesday when India hammered Sri Lanka in the one-off T20 International to become the first team to accomplish a 9-0 clean sweep across formats on away tours.

India beat the hosts by seven wickets to end the tour unbeaten after sweeping the Test (3-0) and ODI (5-0) series.

It was the seventh occasion in the history of cricket that a team ended up winning every international match across formats on a tour of minimum six matches. However, never had a team done it with a 9-0 margin on overseas tour.

It added another feather to Kohli’s cap who led his team’s win in Colombo on Wednesday with a blistering 82 runs while India chased 171 to win.

India completed a historic 9-0 sweep against SriLanka in SriLanka as the Men in Blue cruised to a 7-wicket victory in the lone T20 international at Colombo on Wednesday.

Prior to the T20 win, India had whitewashed SriLanka 3-0 in the Test series and 5-0 in the ODI series.

There has been only one other instance where a team a swept a series 9-0, all the three formats combined — Australia had crushed Pakistan 9-0 in 2010 Down Under.

 High on confidence, India once more outclassed the islanders as Virat Kohli played a captain’s knock and scored 82 off 54 balls to guide India close to the finish line.

Through the course of his innings, Kohli became the fastest to reach 15,000 international runs and also went third on the list of highest run-scorer in T20 internationals.

India won the toss and put Sri Lanka to bat first and the islanders began to attack the Indian bowlers from the word go.

It was in the 2nd over when Sri Lanka got the first blow as Bhuvneshwar Kumar knuckled out Sri Lanka captain Upul Tharanga. Soon, in the 5th over, Niroshan Dickwella followed his captain as Bumrah dismantled his off stump.

Though the Sri Lanka batsmen never stopped attacking, Yuzvendra Chahal’s 3/43 and Kuldeep Yadav’s 2/20 stemmed the flow of runs in the middle overs and it required an explosive innings of 40 runs from Ashan Priyanjan in the end to take Sri Lanka to a competitive total of 170.

India, on the other hand, began cautiously and lost an early wicket in Rohit Sharma when he edged off Lasith Malinga’s delivery in the 3rd over and Thisara Perera caught the ball at mid on.

Virat Kohli walked in to bat at No. 3 and immediately took control of one end. Just a couple of overs later, KL Rahul fell to an outstanding catch from Dasun Shanaka and Manish Pandey joined his captain in the middle.

Both Kohli and Pandey steered the Indian innings well, consistently hitting boundaries and keeping a steady flow of runs. While Kohli accelerated halfway through and put India in a dominating position, Pandey hit the winning boundary and notched up his maiden half-century in T20 internationals.

Other Stats:

1. Kohli became the 33rd player to reach 15,000 runs and the only one with an average of above 50

2. Kohli became only the fourth player to notch up a half-century in his 50th T20I

3. When at 71 not out, Kohli completed 1000 runs in chases in T20 internationals.

4. Reaching 74 not out, Kohli overhauled McCullum to become the leading run-scorer in

Australia achieved the same sweeping 9-0 scoreline against Pakistan in 2009-10 but they did that at home.

Here’s the list:

9-0: India vs Sri Lanka 2017 , won by India
9-0: Pakistan in Australia (2009-10), won by Australia
8-0: Bangladesh in New Zealand (2016-17), won by New Zealand
7-0: Zimbabwe in West Indies (2012-13), won by West Indies
6-0: Pakistan in Zimbabwe (2011), won by Pakistan
6-0: Pakistan in Bangladesh (2011-12), won by Pakistan
6-0: Zimbabwe in New Zealand (2011-12), won by New Zealand

Leave a Reply